Bebele, near Füssen 1740 - 1820 Vienna
Johann Martin Fischer arrived in Vienna in1760 to study under the sculptor Anton Tabota. From 1762–1766 he studied at the Vienna Academy under Jakob Schletterer. In 1785 he became a member of the Academy and subsequently assumed the post of professor of sculpture in succession to Franz Anton Zauner as well as the professorship for anatomy. For this appointment he was indebted to Joseph Barth, the famous teacher of ophthalmology and anatomy at the University of Vienna, with whom he shared a lifelong friendship.

Barth was not only one of the most celebrated doctors of his time, but was also regarded as a keen art-lover and collector. Fischer’s appointment to Director of the Academy of Fine Arts in 1815 was the climax of his academic career.

His circle of patrons consisted mainly of public institutions and high-ranking officials. He crafted sculptures for the decoration of public squares and fountains in Vienna. One of his most important patrons was the Princely House of Liechtenstein. As a sculptor he supervised the modifications to the palace in Herrengasse and created the monumental group of the Three Graces for the park in Eisgrub (Lednice).
Johann Martin Fischer
The Dream of St Joseph (second version of a relief for the Josef Fountain in the Graben, Vienna), 1804

Lead-tin alloy, height 99 cm, width 69 cm
Inv.-No. SK907
[learn more]
Zum Seitenanfang  
Anton Anreiter
Pompeo Girolamo Batoni
Joseph Anton Bauer
Bernardo Bellotto
Josef Bergler
Antonio Canal, called Il Canaletto
Moritz Michael Daffinger
Johann Baptist Dallinger von Dalling the Younger
Johann Adam Delsenbach
Albert Christoph Dies
Johann Baptist Drechsler
Du Paquier manufactory Du Paquier manufactory
Vincenzo Fanti
Heinrich von Füger
Jakob Philipp Hackert
Johann Nepumuk Höchle
Imperial Porcelain Manufactory Vienna
Laurenz Janscha
Angelica Kauffmann
Johann Adam Klein
Wilhelm Kobell
Franz Anton Maulbertsch
Franz Xaver Petter
Josef Rebell
Hubert Robert
Royal porcelain manufactory
Ferdinand Runk
Ludwig Ferdinand Schnorr von Carolsfeld
Johann Nepomuk Schödlberger
Carl Schütz
Christian Seybold
Peter Eduard Ströhling
Claude Josèphe Vernet
Elisabeth Vigée Lebrun
Friedrich Wilhelm von Schadow
Ferdinand Georg Waldmüller
Ignaz Joseph Würth
Ignaz Sebastian Würth
Michael Wutky
Franz Anton Zauner
New acquisitions >>